SCADA Cybersecurity Certificate

Guarding the Critical Infrastructure, Systems, and Processes

Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition (SCADA) and Industrial Control Systems (ICS) are the systems that monitor and control critical infrastructure, processes, and other systems. SCADA/ICS is used in various industries and processes, including power generation and transmission, water treatment, transportation, and pipelines.

ICS and SCADA cybersecurity protects and mitigates threats to these types of systems, the critical infrastructure, processes, and related systems. The security courses in this graduate-level certificate focus on SCADA and ICS cybersecurity from a strategic perspective.

The certificate requires 15 graduate credit hours (as identified below). Prerequisites for registration are a bachelor's degree and networking experience or training. If a student does not have the networking background, then they must take IST-7040 (Data Communications and Networking) to fulfill the prerequisite. This certificate requires students to complete three IST credits and twelve SEC credits from the list of core courses below. Students must maintain a 3.0 GPA in order to earn the certificate.

SCADA Cybersecurity Certificate Core Courses

IST 7060 Project and Change Management


IST 7100 IT Policy and Strategy

SEC 6080 Industrial Control Systems (ICS) Security

SEC 6082 SCADA Architecture

SEC 6084 SCADA Risk Management and Auditing

SEC 6086 SCADA Security Awareness and Standards

NOTE: You must successfully complete one IST course (either IST 7060 or IST 7100) and all four SEC courses identified in the core courses to receive the certificate.

This information applies to students who enter this degree program during the 2024-2025 Academic Year. If you entered this degree program before the Fall 2023 semester, please refer to the academic catalog for the year you began your degree program.